A student workshop with the First Lady and the cast and crew of “Beasts of the Southern Wild.”

Mrs. Obama: “This event is important to me not only because I love and believe in this film, but also because I deeply love and believe in all of you. Do you understand that? I deeply love and believe all of you and I haven’t even met you. But I know you’re out there and I know your potential, I know your promise. And I want to find every opportunity that I can to continue to find ways — whatever ways we can to inspire kids like you all over this country to do amazing things….

Because the truth is that I know that I wouldn’t be where I am today, and I know that my husband, President Obama, wouldn’t be where he is today if he hadn’t gotten that kind of inspiration from somebody in our lives….

Like the characters in this movie, we know that our families and our communities gave us the love and support to go out and pursue our dreams. But like Benh and Dwight and Quvenzhané, what I want you all to understand is that you have to do the work. That’s my message: You have to do the work. We’re not here because we didn’t do the work. We all did the work.”

Remarks by the First Lady: http://1.usa.gov/VUYcEe

White House video:

One thought on “A student workshop with the First Lady and the cast and crew of “Beasts of the Southern Wild.”

Leave a Reply

